NARAL_protester_810_500_55_s_c1

“As Live Action News has reported, the so-called Reproductive FACT Act, which passed in 2015, requires licensed crisis pregnancy centers to provide information on how to obtain abortions and contraception, including information on public financial assistance if necessary. Several pregnancy centers have challenged the law in court as a violation of their free speech and religious liberty. …”

More: https://www.lifesitenews.com/pulse/naral-sends-spies-to-crack-down-on-ca-pregnancy-centers-not-advertising-abo?utm_source=LifeSiteNews.com+Daily+Newsletter&utm_campaign=775e9c4cbb-LifeSiteNews_com_US_Headlines_06_19_2013&utm_medium=email&utm_term=0_0caba610ac-775e9c4cbb-397582101

About adventlife

I am a second generation Adventist who joined the church by baptism almost seven decades ago when the Adventist Church was still pro-life. I have a Ph. D. Degree in religion, and my dissertation was entitled "From Pro-life to Pro-choice: The Dramatic Shift in Seventh-day Adventists' Attitudes Toward Abortion." I recently published a book with said title which is available at http://lulu.com. You need to type my name in the Search blank space to access it. I believe that the Adventist Church should get out of the abortion business, especially out of the elective type of abortions. The church did compromise on this moral issue back in 1970 and many of its hospitals were allowed to profit from the killing of innocent unborn babies with impunity. The church needs to repent of this great moral sin and publicly admit that it was wrong for the "Remnant," Church which keeps God's Commandments, to profit from what the Bible and our Adventist pioneers labeled as murder. The Lord is merciful and forgiving, but public sins must be publicly repented of in order to secure God's forgiveness. P.S.: I recently published my second book dealing with abortion and the Adventist Church. The title is: “Murder in Paradise: A Serious Warning to the United States & the Adventist Church” http://www.lulu.com/shop/search.ep?type=Print+Products&keyWords=Samojluk+murder+in+paradise&x=5&y=10&sitesearch=lulu.com&q= Paperback: List Price: $22.49 $9.00 You Save: 60%

8 responses »

  1. Killing with impunity, as you put it, is never ok – but then the long, brutal, vicious rape-torture-murder culture of Christianity definitely wrote the book on killing with impunity. I think your church – or any other religious organization – has no more business legislating reproductive rights than a politician running for office. The only person who has the right to make that determination is the one who’s body it concerns – otherwise you turn women into mere receptacles with no more rights to guide their own lives than a car can run without an engine.

    • adventlife says:

      I am not the author of the report! I was merely quoting “Live Action News.” Said report indicates that “Several pregnancy centers have challenged the law in court as a violation of their free speech and religious liberty,” and I tend to support their claim. Pro-lifers believe that it is wrong to force someone to act in violation of their moral conviction.

      BTW, women have the legal—not moral—right to control their lives, but this right excludes the moral right to take the life of an innocent human being.

      Nic Samojluk

      • I appreciate your perspective, but have you ever considered how you would feel if the shoe was on the other foot? What I mean to say is how would you feel if someone wanted you force you to abandon your convictions and wanted to take away your rights? Imagine if the government decided that, you know what, we’re going 100% secular and outlawing religion outright. You’re not allowed to practice your religion and, in fact, if you’re caught doing so in public someone can just throw you out of their establishment. What I’m trying to say – and forgive me if I’m doing so in a rather clumsy fashion – is that, essentially, these issues boil down to where one person’s rights end and where another person’s rights start. Invariably, there is some overlap – and this is where we always seem to get into hot water. Personally, I’m not religious – and while I don’t, in principle, object to someone’s right to practice their faith, I also believe that this should be done in a house of worship or at home. I don’t think that religion has a place in schools and, quite frankly, I find VBS to be something akin to indoctrination and brain-washing. I personally think that, if you work in a public sector job or, in fact, in any job that requires direct interaction with other people, you have absolutely no right to force your religious views on someone else. It would never occur to me to storm into a church and start telling people how they should run their lives, their marriages, their families and calling them names – why is this supposed to be an acceptable expression of someone else’s religious freedom? The freedom OF religion must, de facto, also include freedom FROM religion – meaning that while it’s your right to believe what you want and worship how you see fit, your freedom of religion doesn’t give you the right to infringe on my rights.

      • adventlife says:

        I want to remind you that I am not the author of the article. I am pro-life, though, and many of my close friends are pro-choice. I have no power to impose my views on others, and others have no right to impose their views on me, but President Obama forces me to contribute with my taxes for the killing of innocent human beings. This is morally wrong. Do you agree?

      • Please don’t talk to me or anyone else about taxes when, to this day, churches continue to be tax exempt. I think THAT is morally wrong – the same people who whine about their taxes paying for things they don’t want when people like me have to live with the fact that this is all done from the very camp that veils itself in their freedom of religion, tax free, while wanting to legislate away the rights of others. Last I checked, people who are pro-choice aren’t forcing people to have abortions; people who are gay aren’t forcing others to enter non-heterosexual relationships/marriage; people who aren’t religious aren’t trying to force you and people like you not to pray, not to worship, or not to speak your mind. So I invite you to rethink your perception of moral turpitude.

      • adventlife says:

        If you are not forcing church people to speak their mind, then why do you complain when they do?

        BTW, my own church is pro-choice. Did you know that?

        Of course, I am pro-life, but I did not author the article you are criticizing! I simply posted a link to it.

      • That doesn’t address the issue of churches being tax exempt, does it?

Leave a Reply

