Troy Newman
This is a story I do not share very often. I was placed for adoption by my loving birth-mother over 48 years ago.

I spent my youth wondering and praying for the woman who held me in her womb for 9 months. I vowed that if I ever met her I the first thing I would say would be, “Thank you for giving me life!”

Even at an early age I knew that 1/3 of my generation had been targeted for abortion. Even though I was born before Roe v. Wade, it was common knowledge that a “problem pregnancy” could be “taken care of” for a price.

Thankfully, that never happened to me. I was raised in a God-fearing Catholic home. Then on Thanksgiving Day 1994 my phone rang – it was my birth mother. I kept the promise I made to myself so many years prior. “Thank you for giving me life,” I said to her. We both cried tears of joy as we talked for hours.

My mom and I now have a great relationship and I’m still very thankful for her. (Can you see how much we look alike?)”

Source: Troy Newman, the president of Operation Rescue, one of the leading pro-life agencies in the U.S. via personal email communication.

About adventlife

I am a second generation Adventist who joined the church by baptism almost seven decades ago when the Adventist Church was still pro-life. I have a Ph. D. Degree in religion, and my dissertation was entitled "From Pro-life to Pro-choice: The Dramatic Shift in Seventh-day Adventists' Attitudes Toward Abortion." I published a book with said title which is available at http://lulu.com. You need to type my name in the Search blank space to access it. I believe that the Adventist Church should get out of the abortion business, especially out of the elective type of abortions. The church did compromise on this moral issue back in 1970 and many of its hospitals were allowed to profit from the killing of innocent unborn babies with impunity. The church needs to repent of this great moral sin and publicly admit that it was wrong for the "Remnant" Church, that claims to keep God's Commandments, to profit from what the Bible and our Adventist pioneers labeled as murder. The Lord is merciful and forgiving, but public sins must be publicly repented of in order to secure God's forgiveness. P.S.: I recently published my second book dealing with abortion and the Adventist Church. The title is: “Murder in Paradise: A Serious Warning to the United States & the Adventist Church” http://www.lulu.com/shop/search.ep?type=Print+Products&keyWords=Samojluk+murder+in+paradise&x=5&y=10&sitesearch=lulu.com&q= Paperback: List Price: $22.49 $9.00 You Save: 60%

Leave a comment